english  português
Our History , since 1855

Our HistoryThe Oporto Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club was originally formed in 1855, the grounds at that time being situated at Candal in Vila Nova de Gaia.

The names of many of the founding members such as Sandeman, Reid, Tait, Cassels, Sellars, Dow, Warre and Fladgate, are still well recognized today either through their descendants who continue to live in Portugal, or because of the heritage they bequeathed in the form of their business activities.

The land in the Campo Alegre where the Club now stands was acquired in 1923. Meanwhile the Oporto British Club, a town club established in 1909 was flourishing in splendid premises in the centre of the city.

In 1967 rationality prevailed and the two clubs amalgamated, the proceeds from the sale of the premises of the Oporto British Club being used to finance the new clubhouse offering a wider range of facilities.

Since that time there have been a number of additions and improvements to cater for the needs of an increasing membership, of local, overseas and country members. Although the club is predominantly British, membership also extends to many Portuguese and non-British nationals.

163 years of history
Cricket   Oporto Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club   Oporto Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club members

Social & Sports

Oporto Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club has a great history providing a unique centre of social and sporting activity for both the British community in Portugal and their guests.

Oporto Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club members   Oporto Cricket and Lawn Tennis Club members   Field Hockey
Cricket   Swimming Pool  

Application for Membership

Divided into several categories of membership, the Club allows the application of single persons, married or partnered couples, as well as companies.

Consult our Services & Facilities Join the club
 Home  History  What We Have   Sports   News   Join The Club   Members   Room Rates   Reciprocal Clubs   Photo Gallery   Contacts 
© 2013 Oporto Cricket & Lawn Tennis Club. Web design de NetParceiro.